//
you're reading...
Inspiration, Psychology

The Meaning of Life (and how being drunk can help)

What's the meaning of your life?

There are two kinds of drunks. The ones who lose the power of speech and fall over (I personally enjoy these drunks a lot – they are wonderfully carefree) and the ones who talk until the sun rises and all the wine is finished. I happen to (usually) fall into the category of talking a lot – with free-spirited glee. I will hug you, kiss you, tell you how much I adore you and after all the hilarity, I usually fold over, falling fast asleep. My dear friends were always kind to ensure I had a blanket and a glass of water by my side before they left. Isn’t it wonderful how wine loosens the tongue? You can broach subjects that whilst sober may seem too deep or too personal. Alcohol although a demon in its own right, can certainly break down social barriers effortlessly. Bonds are established as you put the world to rights.

Every so often, when consuming vast qualities of wine, my husband and I will ponder (rather red eyed and worse for wear)  ‘so erm…what is the meaning of life? What is most important to you? How can we ensure we have the best life possible?’ And questions to that effect.

After thirty years on this planet, these questions have weighed on my mind. Only in recent years has the brain fog has cleared. I am starting to see the answers to these questions. Perhaps it is because I have remained more sober of late?

I believe that for each and every one of us our meaning to this life will be individual and personal. We cannot be general and say that the meaning of life is family or contentment or pleasure. The meaning of life is dramatically different from one person to the next, from one year to the next. The meaning of life is ever-changing depending on how you feel and what is actually happening in your own life. No two people ever experience life the same, nor do two people ever conclude, judge or perceive their life to be the same.

I do believe that to have a good life, we must seek out a meaningful life. We do not need to seek only pleasure, status or power. For true happiness, we must strive for a life that is meaningful. 

The Meaning of Life, in my opinion…

1. Love – the love I have for my family and my best friends is at the very core of my being. Without these things my life is bland, dead and has little meaning. It is impossible for me to breath without this love.

2. Learning – I believe we must always be open to new experiences, learn new things and be fearless in this life. We must take an interest in the outside world and look beyond our own personal happiness. We must learn as much as possible, expand our thoughts, open our mind to new ways of thinking. Being rigid, ignorant, insular will serve us no purpose.

3. Growth – My husband believes this and I have to agree. Life is never permanent. It is ever-changing. We must watch our children change and grow every day. We too, the adults – grow. It is best to embrace the growth. It is punitive to stunt the personal growth. As the years pass, it can be enjoyable to acknowledge how much you have discovered, how far you have come and how you have changed as a person.

4. Suffering – In life, if there is one thing that is certain – it is emotional pain. We will always experience an element of pain, heart ache and suffering. It is how we choose to respond to the hurt that is important. With courage and strength, we can find our way back into the light and have a renewed sense of purpose.

What is the meaning of your life? What is vital to you? What do you think is important to ensure you have the happiest life possible?

About Alana Munro

Writer. Mama to three, wife to one. Red wine consumer.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

