//
you're reading...
Gender, Inspiration, Psychology, Society, Women's Issues

Gender Biased Nonsense!

Kids just wanna have fun!

I can’t help but feel a little bit irritated when I read lazy journalism that is gender biased. Yet again another article stating ‘researchers’ have discovered the perfect family dynamics – two daughters. 

I can’t help but grind my teeth at this research. What grates me the most is how they can’t help but throw in a bit of negativity towards the boy camp. Boys are just well…loud and energetic according to the research. It has a slight whiff of, if you really had the choice you’d never pick boys as they are just too messy, too noisy, too crazy. Hmmm…

I think little boys get bad press and I’m bored with all the assumptions that ALL boys are loud, hyper and badly behaved! Just as mothers of daughters no doubt roll their eyes at the notion that all girls are clean, gentle and quiet constantly! It is ridiculous to assume that all children’s behaviour is entirely programmed by their gender! What about individual character, environment, parenting, experiences?

I have three little boys. One little boy has a louder voice I will give him that and he can be a little silly at times but he is a good person to the core. He would never hurt a fly.Why is society so quick to judge little boys? Have we lost our sense of fun? I do believe little boys exhibit fun on a daily basis. Everything in my sons world is funny or has the potential to be funny. It is quite amazing for a woman to witness! That’s funny boys? They are in fits of giggles over anything and everything!

You know, I was a little girl. And here’s the thing. They don’t all pick flowers and draw butterflies all day. I had tree houses, I got dirty, I kicked a football around, I experienced aggressive behaviour from other little girls, I bugged my parents. Let’s be realistic. Girls are children too, they are not perfect little ladies who are clean and quiet and neither they bloody well should be. They are children! Let them roll in the dirt, let them play, let them find their own path and be free to express who they are as people.

Why do we continue in this day and age to pigeon-hole children purely because they have a vagina or a penis? Why are we not looking at the individual personality, the character they possess inside?

I just think little boys get such a slating all the time. They have no voice. All we hear about are the bad boys in the media. What about all the good boys out there? What about my little boys who get up every morning, get ready for school all by themselves, cheerfully taking responsibility for their own little life. They go to bed when I ask. They brush their teeth. They look after their little baby brother and kiss him constantly. They cuddle their parents good night. They do their homework.  They want to succeed in life and have babies of their own one day (I fully encourage this of course!). They don’t kick lumps out of each other (a common perception of brothers). They tell their mummy that she is pretty. They help me put the washing away chattering away about school, friends and girls they like. They dance to heavy rock music. They try to tidy their room but it still smells and looks messy to me! They love watching movies snuggled under a blanket with mum. They eat a lot. They smile a lot. They laugh a lot.

No researcher can tell me what is perfect. We all have our own version of paradise in our own homes. Don’t let some lazy research suggest where you rank in family life perfection. Every family is unique bursting full of individuals. Life would be very dull and bland if everyone was PERFECT!

Righty ho, I better get back fighting against children’s gender bias in the media!

‘BEST’ TO ‘WORST’ COMBINATION OF CHILDREN:

1. Two girls
2. One boy and one girl
3. Two boys
4. Three girls
5. Three boys
6. Four boys
7. Two girls and one boy
8. Two boys and one girl
9. Three boys and one girl
10. Three girls and one boy
11. Two boys and two girls
12. Four girls
Read more: The Perfect Family: Two Daughters http://mix941fm.radio.com/2011/04/06/the-perfect-family-two-daughters/#ixzz1InOFIoK9 

About Alana Munro

Writer. Mama to three, wife to one. Red wine consumer.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

