//
you're reading...
Inspiration, Psychology, Society

Are you in financial chains?

I’m currently trying to read a philosophy book. It is very heavy to hold in bed and very heavy for the mind. I read a page or two and then need to take a little break. I probably need to push out some child hood memories to free up some space in my brain for the theories. However one in particular struck me. I had to share.

‘Man is born free, yet everywhere he is in chains’. Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778)

There is no doubt in my mind that the majority of people in the Western world are tangled up in financial chains. Sadly, we can no longer build our own home with our own hands. We lost that creative skill a long time ago. We have a society whereby we hand over the cash and someone else does it all for us but of course the debts are massive to our wallets and perhaps our emotional sanity. Before the crashing of the property markets in America and the United Kingdom I could smell the ‘but I deserve this house’ mentality sweeping across the nations. At one point my husband and I were told we could have a mortgage five times my husbands salary and I was a stay at home mother. It seemed irresponsible to us that the lenders where offering this to young people with little life experience. As we like to eat every night, we declined the offer.

It is fascinating why so many people blindly purchase property that they can barely afford. Why are we as humans only too happy to become prisoners in our own homes?

My take on it? I have some idea’s on why we continue to tangle our life with financial constraints such as huge mortgages, hire purchase cars and the like…

  • Ego – never underestimate the power of the ego.
  • Thoughtless and mindless consumption by the general public
  • Conforming to society and what is considered ‘normal’
  • We are encouraged by the media/government/business/other people – keeps the economy ticking over.
  • Emotional – makes us feel worthy

As much as I have joked that we should just purchase a camper van or spend the house deposit on the holiday of a life time, I do understand the vulnerability of people and how easily we can be manipulated. I also understand how for most owning a home offers peace of mind and security.

Owning a property, it has always been a huge part of who we are as humans. After all, we are the only animals in this world we do this.  But why I wonder have we allowed it to consume us? Why have we become the ‘I deserve it’ society? Why do we deserve all that our hearts desire? Comments below on what you think…

About Alana Munro

Writer. Mama to three, wife to one. Red wine consumer.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Are you in financial chains?

  1. I think it has alot to do with the country and society we are raised in, so many other people around the world dont have the need for ‘stuff’ like we do. but when it comes to property if the aus government doesn’t handle our current housing situation right the bubble will burst here too…. 😉

    Posted by Janna | February 18, 2011, 7:55 pm
    • Thanks for your comment Janna. I certainly agree a lot of our desires are conditioned behaviours. I see a lot of the same signs developing in the Oz housing market that developed in the UK market, the bubble will probably have to burst – no normal middle income family can afford to live if the prices don’t level out somewhat! x

      Posted by theladylounge | February 18, 2011, 8:10 pm
  2. Came to your web blog through Delicious. You know, I am signing up to your rss.

    Posted by Sofie | February 21, 2011, 4:51 am
  3. Awesome, thanks Sofie x

    Posted by theladylounge | February 22, 2011, 10:11 am
  4. I have always felt that there was something wrong with the way we live here in North America, the way we are constantly pushed to “chase the dream”. Constantly devoting our time towards the persuite of financial gain, and the endless cycle of consumerism. The increasing devide between the sexes componded buy a monatary system that favors the few, we are all in serious trouble. Money represents freedom or time, and with out it we are; imprisoned, shunned, alienated. Money takes president in our lives leaving little time to spend with family and friends, or persue our spirtuality. We have been taught to live like this day to day and to consider our futures… The greatest illusion is choice, the land of the free? as long as we work for money we shal never be free. What is happening is there are more people in the cage than the cage was built for and as a result you will feel the bars pressed into your back..into your soul.

    Posted by James | June 11, 2011, 5:51 am
    • Hi James, thanks so much for your incredibly insightful response. I read it with great interest. I certainly agree with many of your thoughts! Please come again soon to share your insights as my readers would benefit! Thank you 🙂

      Posted by theladylounge | June 22, 2011, 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

