//
you're reading...
Inspiration, Psychology

Do you follow your own dreams?

I am not a person who wants to conform to societies norms. I have always wanted to take a different path from the majority. If I look closely I can see there are people like me. People who reject what society expects of them. People who take their own unique passage through life.

Yesterday I was driving near my home and I saw a surfers camper van. On the vehicle the guys had sprayed some words of wisdom. This is a common sight down on the Surf Coast. But this one message struck a chord with me. The cool surfer guy had probably came up with the message whilst at one with nature, hanging onto his board he had a moment of real reflection about his life. ‘People will not believe what you say but they will believe what you do’. I smiled.

The young chap had decided to follow his own dream, take his own path in life. Life was grabbed by the balls. He didn’t just talk to his mates about what he quite fancied giving a go, he actually did it. It was important to him. It was his passion. I say hats off to people who have the courage. He could have stayed at home, watched reality television shows, got a ‘safe’ job, paid his taxes, fed his dog.

I have thought about my own dreams and ambitions many times. At times they have been influenced by what society would approve of. However as time has passed I have discovered it is vital to follow my own path. Not someone else’s ideal of how my life should be.

How on earth do we do this? Sure it seems easy to say – just do it. We need to break through our fear barrier first. It is a tough cookie to crack. But most people will need to work through the worry of failure, the worry of falling flat on our face, the fear of not being ‘good enough’. Then we have to plan, plan, plan like a Wedding Planner on cocaine! But most importantly we have to create our own luck. We need to be pro-active, even pre-active! Nothing happens over night. Rome was not built in a day. Day by day chip away at your dream.

And remember the old saying, ‘If you can dream it, you can do it.’ If you have the intelligence to ponder an idea, then perhaps you have the ability to turn that idea into reality? A dear friend from the United Kingdom bought me a little gift last year, on it those simple but powerful words were printed. There is rarely a day that goes by that I don’t rehearse those words in my head. It has become my mantra. She knows me well.

What are your dreams? Have you picked your own unique path in life? Comments below…

About Alana Munro

Writer. Mama to three, wife to one. Red wine consumer.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Do you follow your own dreams?

  1. Bookmarked, I really like your blog! 🙂

    Posted by Ronny | February 15, 2011, 11:18 am
  2. It does take courage to take your own path in life. But it is worth it. I’m sturggling right now to take my own path and follow what is important to me as a person. Hopefully it will all work out! It is best to be true to yourself. I like your mantra. I think I’ll use that myself!

    Posted by Suzanne | February 16, 2011, 10:35 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

