//
you're reading...
Society

Are you Thrifty yet?

My husband will agree I love clothes. Lots of clothes. I take up a huge majority of our walk in robe which is pretty ridiculous. I just enjoy the thrill of finding a bargain. I’m ashamed to admit I get a little high from any finds. But that’s me, we all have our little cravings.

In an effort to save our cash flow in recent years and to control my shopping addiction I have opted for raiding charity shops. At first I struggled to get passed the stale smell. However once I have breathed for a few minutes I take little notice. I am far too busy discovering treasures.

As time has went on I have researched about my little hobby. It turns out I am ethical. Hey that’s a good thing surely. Did you know that 30 to 40 kg of clothing per person is found in landfills every single year. That’s a lot of waste. A 2005 study by the Australia Institute found $10.5 billion is spent every single year on throwaway, fast fashion. Most of this – cheap polyester – ends up in the landfills.

Crikey.

There is another point to consider. The moral implications of fast fashion shops. It wasn’t long ago that Topshop in the UK was caught up in a very public dispute. It was discovered that Topshop and many other big brands like Primark have been using children and adults in lesser developed countries for cheap labour. Furthermore, there was little commitment to the workers rights for a fair wage, a trade union and the likes.

Gulp.

OK so finding a second-hand dress for $5 is not going to change the world. But it will increase the life span of clothing. It will reduce the vast quantity of clothing in landfills. Reusing and recycling clothes could be the future. Being thrifty is surely the new cool?

If landfills are not top priority in your mind then consider the plight of children and adults who are working long hours every day in very basic conditions to make a high fashion item for us to wear once and then forget about or throw out.

So ladies, the next time your partner complains about your vast array of clothing encroaching on the wardrobe space you share, simply inform him that your buys are all ethical, recycled and ultimately amazing fashion bargains!

About Alana Munro

Writer. Mama to three, wife to one. Red wine consumer.

Discussion

One thought on “Are you Thrifty yet?

  1. It’s a nice post!Thanks for your good work,it helps me a lot!I will come back again!

    Posted by cheap clothes | October 18, 2011, 5:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

