//
you're reading...
Personal

>When health is poor, friends remain close at hand!

>I used to trust my body. If I had to take a blood test it always passed with ease. I think I’m relatively healthy for a Scottish lass. I don’t live on fried food. I always try and nibble on green things. I’ve always drank herbal tea’s long before they became fashionable. I keep an eye on my vitamin and mineral consumption. I don’t smoke. I have even contemplated giving up the wine but then I thought, erm let’s not do that!

However as I stare 30 years young square on this May, I can sense something has changed.

I may need to invest in a rather stylish pill box soon.

I need to get surgery in a couple of months. My cervix that has served me so well and held three beautiful babies so tightly in my womb needs some help. They need to put me to sleep and remove an area that is broken. An area has highly abnormal cells. I am sure Miss Cervix will recover. I have to remain positive that this will be the end of it.

I have also recently discovered I have under active thyroid. A ha so it is not just from being a mother that is causing my extreme tiredness, chest pains, dizzy spells, constant sickness! Good to know!

It’s been 6 months of health concerns. Pre-esclampisa – Yup done that. A new baby who may be deaf after failed tests – Yes done that. A very ill 2 week old baby who is struggling to breathe and is rushed to hospital middle of the night via an ambulance – Yes yes yes done that too!

But it is all OK. There is always someone out there in a much worse situation. Everything that has happened has been manageable. It has however been incredibly draining and a strain on our family in a new country.

But it is OK as we have beautiful friends who are very like family. They cooked us meals, they telephoned, they emailed, they showed up at our door with food, they showed up at the hospital with healthy food for me, they took our children when the strain was too much for them. All with no expectation that I would return their kindness.

So I may not trust my body quite as much as before. But I now trust in my relationships. When things start breaking down in my body or a family members body, I know I have friends who will help keep our heads above water.

People say if you don’t have your health you don’t have much. This is certainly true. But what would this life be without loving and supportive friends to pull you through?

I know that no matter happens in this life, I have people in this life who truly care. Anything seems possible. Thank you friends.

About Alana Munro

Writer. Mama to three, wife to one. Red wine consumer.

Discussion

One thought on “>When health is poor, friends remain close at hand!

  1. >Crappy 6 mts what with a new baby in a new country! Good to hear you're being looked after by friends in Australia x

    Posted by Anonymous | February 1, 2011, 2:36 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

