//
you're reading...
Gender, Psychology, Reviews, Society

>Delusions of Gender

>

What’s the book all about?
A vehement attack on the latest pseudo-scientific claims about the differences between the sexes. Sex discrimination is supposedly a distant memory. Yet popular books, magazines and even scientific articles increasingly defend inequalities by citing immutable biological differences between the male and female brain. That’s the reason, we’re told, that there are so few women in science and engineering, so few men in the laundry room – different brains are just better suited to different things. Drawing on the latest research in developmental psychology, neuroscience, and social psychology, Delusions of Gender powerfully rebuts these claims, showing how old myths, dressed up in new scientific finery, are helping perpetuate the sexist status quo. Cordelia Fine, ‘a cognitive neuroscientist with a sharp sense of humour and an intelligent sense of reality’ (The Times) reveals the mind’s remarkable plasticity, shows how profoundly culture influences the way we think about ourselves and, ultimately, exposes just how much of what we consider ‘hardwired’ is actually malleable. This startling, original and witty book shows the surprising extent to which boys and girls, men and women are made – and not born, empowering us to break free of the supposed predestination of our sex chromosomes.
Extracted from www.Amazon.co.uk

Sounds like a must read! You can purchase this book online from Amazon and from all good book stores. I will certainly be tracking it down pronto.

As a mother of three glorious little boys I am forever amazed by societies prejudices and ill informed judgements. It saddens me to report that I have had strangers say and I quote, ‘Oh your house must be very noisey’ (yeah of course it can be, but equally it can be very quiet when the kids play Lego, do art or we snuggle under a blanket to watch Toy Story), ‘Oh you have boys, that must be so hard’ (ummm why would boys be any harder than having girls? Surely all children are draining at times on a mothers patience!), ‘Poor you!How do you cope?’ (Excuse me? Poor me! Are you being serious? Have you seen my beautiful children? They adore their mother and father. I am treasured by my kids. They kiss me constantly. We are incredibly lucky!), ‘How do you connect with a boy?’ (Erm…that’s too easy, my boys tell me they love me almost daily and mother can do very little wrong in her boys eye – It’s pretty cool!). OK I know, I can’t deny some boys ARE a handful, but equally some girls are exhausting. It comes down to their personality. All kids have  potential at times to cause fatigue!

What saddens me most is that the majority of negative comments come from women, mostly mothers who may have been blessed with a Son herself. Perhaps her Son is a hyper active type of child? Perhaps the person making the judgment has girls and has no experience with boys. Let us not make snap assumptions as all children are unique individuals. What he or she has in their underpants should not be used with such inflated gusto. Now anyone who really knows us would never say such nonsense. Upon getting to know my Son’s they quickly learn how wonderful, loving and sweet they are. My little one last night said, ‘Mummy, you are so special to me’, I think my girl friend nearly fell over. But I do find it incredibly frustrating to feel I am having to defend my innocent children. I am obliged to say, ‘But they are GOOD boys’, What does this mean? Why do I feel forced to tell people this? Is it because society would have us believe that most boys are very naughty and hyper active? I can’t quite imagine mothers of three girls having to defend their daughters and say, ‘but they are such GOOD girls!’ It is somewhat assumed that girls will be good. No doubt mothers of girls have other prejudices to deal with. So with all this in mind, this book will be read with great interest by me.

Please do tell me your personal experiences? It is a fascinating subject…

About Alana Munro

Writer. Mama to three, wife to one. Red wine consumer.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “>Delusions of Gender

  1. >Amen to this sister!!!I have two boys and find I am constantly defending the asumption that they must be agressive, crazy and out of control just because of their sex.In fact last week when talking to a friend about maybe having a third child she said 'well I suppose you wouldn't mind having another boy because at least you have good boys' hmmm as oppossed to all the other boys out there?? The book sounds like an interesting read.Debs x

    Posted by Debbie | November 13, 2010, 9:45 am
  2. >Yup totally agree Deb! It is frustrating to have to defend and say, 'oh but they are gooood you know!' Boys grow into men, and you know most men I know are so chilled and fantastic people! Most people are fundamentally good people. Boys can get bad press. Give kids a chance. Let's not make snap judgements just because a child is a girl or a boy. Let's look beyond that and see the child. x

    Posted by Alana | November 14, 2010, 3:40 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

